Jury 2021 - IDEA 2023

Jury 2021

Brahman Perera

Brahman Perera honed his skills in interior design at some of Melbourne’s top firms before setting up his own studio. A highly personal approach is at the heart of his practice. He admires the narratives of his clients’ lives, documented in their collection of possessions. His work is about composing and reframing these treasured pieces while helping his clients build a personal collection of quality furniture to enjoy for many years to come.

Chelsea Hing

Heading up her eponymous studio since 2007, Chelsea Hing is one of the foremost residential interior designers in Australia. Celebrated for her fearless use of colour, Chelsea’s work is marked by soulful, expressive spaces, with a distinctly charismatic style. With over 20 years industry expertise, Chelsea has built a reputation for beautiful, liveable interiors crafted with character.

David Flack

The IDEA 2020 Designer of the Year, David Flack is the principal of Melbourne's Flack Studio - a multi-disciplinary practice of designers and architects committed to delivering supremely elegant contemporary interiors. With a respect for the past and an eye to the future, Flack Studio believes that creative flair combined with exceptional rigour creates spaces of sophistication and ease.

Domino Risch

A principal at Hassell Sydney, Domino Risch is one of Australia's most highly regarded and trusted workplace designers. Passionate about the future of work, she excels at leading clients and design teams through workplace projects that are fundamentally aligned with organisational, cultural, strategic and future focused business objectives.

Jean-Paul Ghougassian

Jean-Paul Ghougassian is a director at Melbourne's Ritz & Ghougassian, piloting the interior design projects within his studio. His interest in architecture and the built environment is informed by a greater need to connect more thoughtfully. His experience within the realm of design is unique and extensive, having worked across a number of sectors. Specialising in hospitality and residential design, his oeuvre illustrates a high level of critical thinking and controlled spatial composition, bringing together materiality, volume and light to create enduring spaces.

Meryl Hare

The IDEA 2020 Gold Medal recipient Meryl Hare started Hare + Klein in 1989. She is a Fellow of the Design Institute of Australia, has received a citation for services to the design industry and was inducted to the DIA Hall of Fame in 2011. She has published two books with Thames & Hudson – Hare + Klein Texture Colour Comfort (2014 + 2018 compact edition) and Hare + Klein Interior (2020).

Ryan Genesin

Adelaide-based interior architect Ryan Genesin is the creative director of Genesin Studio. With more than 16 years of experience throughout Australia, Genesin manoeuvres his design skills across diverse project typologies, playing with the artisan process of materials and detail to evoke emotion and nostalgia through the project brief, creating sophisticated residential interiors, innovative and experimental retail and hospitality spaces.

Sustainability Judge: Bonnie Herring

Bonnie is a Director of Architecture at Breathe, which enables her to be involved in strategic practice management and operation, while overseeing and managing project work. As Sustainability Lead she is focused on finding low carbon design opportunities that reconcile ecological, social and economic impacts across all project typologies. Bonnie is passionate about creating novel, socially engaging and sustainable architectural solutions.